You Have Been Spared

by

For election day, I had this whole big post planned that would compare and contrast the two major party candidates on the issues. It was going to be one of those “things” that went on for way too long, had far too many pop-culture in-jokes and was full of my tedious sermonizing on the ills that face our Republic and the “choice” we face on Tuesday.

Thing is, I can’t bring myself to sit and write the whole damn thing out. It bores me. As I do this for me, not you, I’m not going to waste a few hours breaking down the idiotic healthcare plans or any of the other schemes for throwing the taxpayers money down the toilet.

Go ask Roger Abramson. I called this election ten months ago. Now I just want the damn thing over with. Whoever gets to be All-Powerful-Great-Father-In-Chief for the next four years is in for a rough sled. Good luck to you, whoever you are. At this point, I have a hard time telling them apart.

Here’s another prediction: 10% unemployment before next Xmas.  Conduct yourselves accordingly.

I’ll leave it to three great Americans to illustrate the type of person we need in the Oval Office . Two of them did a fine job in the position and we could do a lot worse than the third.

I don’t want anyone as president who promises to take care of me. I may be stupid, but I want a chance to try to be a grown-up and take care of my family. Freedom means the freedom to be stupid, and that’s what I want. I don’t want anyone to feel my pain or tell me to ask what we can do for our country, or give us all money and take care of us. Penn Jillette

We have enough laws already, I don’t need to sign any more. Calvin Coolidge

Oh, goddammit, we forgot the silent prayer. Dwight Eisenhower

Leave a Reply

