A Million Times No…

by

Another meme has come here to die.

Got this one from the lovely Newscoma.

1. Pick up the nearest book.

2. turn to page 123.

3. find the 5th sentence.

4. post the next 3 sentences.

5. tag 5 people.

There isn’t a book of 123 pages in this room. Unless my infant son is reading Atlas Shrugged by the light of the ubiquitous Baby Einstein DVDs during the proscribed sleeping time.

The nearest book is, by happy coincidence, the one I am currently reading. Or re-reading. I don’t recall if this one is a do-over or not.

Made In America, An Informal History of the English Language in the United States by Bill Bryson.

No community in history had grown so big so swiftly. As Daniel Boorstin has noted: “Mankind had required at least a million years to produce its first urban community of a million people. Chicagoans accomplished this feat in less than a century.”

On advice of counsel, I must invoke my constitutional right to refuse to tag anyone.

3 Responses to “A Million Times No…”

  1. Mack Says:

    Thank God. I really dislike memes. Its nice to be thought of and all, but I hardly ever find them interesting, and they are damned time consuming.

    But I like it when people get mad at you instead of me.

  2. newscoma Says:

    Mack, I decided to tag Sarcastro because he called me lovely.
    I get tagged a lot by new bloggers so I do them. Hell, I love talking about me so I do them.
    But I might invoke my constitutional rights in the future because tagging folks sort of makes me feel like I’m making them try my underwear on.
    WAIT, not interesting?
    Damn.
    I’m so glad I didn’t have Penthouse Letters lying about. 😉

  3. LeBlanc Says:

    Bill Bryason is great, I just finished a different book of his, “The Life & Times of the Thunderbolt Kid”.

Leave a Reply

