Helping Children Cope With Death

by

The day was a long one.  Driving home in the pissing rain only made it worse.  The radio had all the bad news.  War, famine, economic collapse and notable deaths.  I knew that a Discussion would have to take place when I got home.

The boys got home a few minutes before me.  I trudged up the stairs.  There are some duties that a father has that are not pleasant.  I was reluctant to even mention the subject.

The boys were unpacking homework and various papers from a day at school.

Boys: (in unison) Welcome home, father!

Me:  Hi, boys.  I need to talk to you about something.  Do you know who Heath Ledger is?

Boys:  No.

Me:  He is playing the Joker in the new Batman movie.

Ten:  Is he dead?

Me:  Yes.

Twelve:  (panicked)  Did he finish the movie?!?

Me:  Yes.

Twelve (relieved) Good!

Good question.

2 Responses to “Helping Children Cope With Death”

  1. Short and Fat Says:

    Is it wrong that was my reaction as well?

    In my defense I had just watched the Brothers Grimm.

  2. Exador Says:

    Just show them this. It should clear everything up.

    http://www.godhatesfags.com/written/fliers/20080122_heath-ledger-brokeback-mountain.pdf

Leave a Reply

