Blood Simply

by

This is going to be a rare public service announcement.  Don’t act so shocked.

I would like to urge all three of my readers to donate blood platelets  at your earliest convenience.

Cancer patients, those receiving  organ or marrow transplants,  victims of traumatic  injuries, and patients undergoing open heart surgery require platelet transfusions to survive.

Many of you know someone who has one of the above mentioned medical conditions.  If you have ever wondered how you could help.  This is it.

I try to give platelets once a month.  You are allowed to give up to 24 times a year.  It takes about two hours for the blood to get sucked out of your body, the platelets to get filtered out, and the blood to be put back in.  It’s very similar to what Keith Richards does before getting up in the morning.

They have a DVD library and televisions with headphones set up for you to enjoy while the apheresis  is taking place.  I was planning on a morning of watching The Big Lebowski and my precious bodily fluids draining out, but Sarcastro, Jr. is running a fever.   It’s sick kid duty for me!

Contact the Red Cross and see if you can help them out.

8 Responses to “Blood Simply”

  1. ceeelcee Says:

    Point folks toward the first time I went non-anon in the blogosphere and induced the Knucklehead to come out from behind the curtain.

    http://thedryspot.wordpress.com/2006/03/31/blogging-while-bleeding/

  2. Sarcastro Says:

    Damn.

    I was hoping to keep the whole “Smug Satisfaction” bit secret. There is such a nice little charge from walking around with the gauze still on your arms and people asking, “Oh, did you give blood?” The reply is always, “No. I’m saving lives. What have you done today?”

  3. Mother Sarcastro Says:

    That’s my boy!! You realize people are going to find out you’re not just a sarcastic smart mouth.

  4. Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » Spinning Platelets Says:

    […] most unlikely fellow you can think of mounting a public service announcement has actually done so. would like to urge all three of my readers to donate blood platelets at your earliest […]

  5. Exador Says:

    Maybe, just for you, I’ll donate. I haven’t done it in a while.

    Also, I can get drunk easier.

  6. Mrs. Sarcastro Says:

    You have made me so proud, my dear, by sharing this side of you. As an oncology nurse, I have administered many units of platelets through my 22 years in the profession. Thanks for spreading the word about the need for platelet donors.

  7. Nashville Knucklehead Says:

    It’s not a good deed unless you give your Bible to a homeless person on the way to donate.

  8. Ginger Says:

    Mrs. Sarcastro…your influence is really manifesting itself these days…what’s your secret?

Leave a Reply

