Random Friday

by

Let us speak of motion pictures past, present and future.

**Can someone explain to me why Adam Beach wasn’t at least nominated for an Oscar for his portrayal of Ira Hayes in Flags of Our Fathers? Can someone explain to me why Alan Arkin won? Oh, that’s right. End of the career achievement award. Duh.

**The kids want me to let them watch the Reno 911!: Miami movie. After catching it On Demand this morning, I don’t think that is going to happen. There was so much objectionable material that I may have to watch it again before they get back from Florida.

**I heard there was a Simpsons movie coming out soon. Funny, I haven’t seen a lot of coverage about it.

**I’ve watched Superman Returns about 30 times now. It has grown on me. Despite the minor flaws, the unfortunate resemblance of Clark Kent to Max Fischer, and the slavish devotion to Richard Donner’s 1978 version, it gets the job done.

I’ve almost gotten past the miscasting of Lois Lane. I can’t quite get past the miscasting of Lex Luthor. Kevin Spacey seems like an inspired choice, and a worthy heir to Gene Hackman on the surface. But after a few minutes, it becomes clear that he is just bald Kevin Spacey, and not the greatest criminal mastermind of our time.

They should have used Clancy Brown. He would have been perfect. At least then you wouldn’t be wondering what Kevin Lex is doing with a girlfriend.

**Speaking of DC Comics, the new teaser for The Dark Knight is online. Tease is about right. All anticipation. No payoff.

**It may be the bourbon talking, but I would totally do Grendel’s Mother. It’s Beowulf time, beeeyaotch!

**I almost forgot about The Darjeeling Limited.  Or Bottle Rocket Goes To India.  Or The Royal Tenenbaums On A Train.    As long as it isn’t another Life Aquatic.  A couple of viewings of Bill Murray all hopped up on melancholy will make you want to shoot a spear gun through your mandible.

3 Responses to “Random Friday”

  1. Paul Nicholson Says:

    I disagree about Superman Returns – Kevin Spacey was the only thing that made that movie worth watching. More than genius, which i think he showed plenty of, he was freakin’ disturbed. He was scary not because he was scary, but because he was so unstable. I was way more frightened of him than i ever was of Gene Hackman.

  2. Sarcastro Says:

    I agree he is scarier than Hackman, but that’s not saying a lot. He did show flashes of brilliance. Mostly, it seemed like Lester Burnham wanted to kill a billion people.

  3. Exador Says:

    Hackman’s genius lies in his ability to express apathy with passion; passion towards his own victory and apathy towards all life in california.

    I think we could learn a lot from him.

Leave a Reply

