Rust Never Sleeps

by

There is this disturbing tendency in Blogland to hop on whatever cattle car is heading East. Some dope will proclaim it NaNaBooBooBloMe month and every frustrated author with a dial-up connection and a burning desire to write the Great American Novel will try to complete a manuscript along with all the other followers within the given thirty days. How many of you actually completed anything after committing to that time-waster?

I know we’ve all been able to sketch out an outline for our literary masterwork on a cocktail napkin before. Remember that one time you and a buddy wrote a complete three act summary with important plot points on some coasters at the local Tipsy McStagger’s? Yeah, that one was gonna knock JD Salinger on his ass, wasn’t it?

Yeah. Whatever happened to that?

Either in your mom’s attic or on the hard drive of some computer that stopped working during the Clinton Administration, right? Along with composing the Christmas thank-you letter to Grandma, these little “projects” are the latest thing for people to feel guilty about not finishing.

The latest bandwagon to jump on is Let’s Take A Picture Every Day. Lots of folks are on this. They are putting up some cool pics. There amazing things you can do with Photoshop. Except, apparently, wash the THC out of your eyes.

I’m going to post random photos throughout the year just to be spiteful. As part of my own Random Blog Post Month (RaBloPoMo), here is a picture of my grill in the rain.

rust-never-sleeps2.jpg

I’d post another photo tomorrow, but that would ruin the whole point of RaBloPoMo.

13 Responses to “Rust Never Sleeps”

  1. Kate O' Says:

    Yeah, but you just committed art. So there.

  2. S&F Says:

    Somebody just lost his free copy of my NaNoWriMo book.It’s been compared to the works of Faulkner…by me.

  3. S&F Says:

    Somebody just lost his free copy of my NaNoWriMo book.It’s been compared to the works of Faulkner…by me.

  4. brittney Says:

    If I get fired, I’m going to fucking kill you.

  5. Mister Nashville Says:

    Great picture! I’ll check back day after tomorrow since tomorrow is off limits.

  6. Mack Says:

    You don’t clean that damn grill, I’m not sure how many tommorrows you have left. I’m paraphrasing, I think…"The whole concept of maintenance eludes them".OT, I have another jar of those cukes, should I put your name on it?

  7. Sarcastro Says:

    Damn skippy I want them cukes. I’ve polished off the pepper jelly if that tells you anything.Nothing wrong with that grill that some high heat won’t fix. Besides, rust is high in vitamins. Like iron.

  8. Nashville Knucklehead Says:

    Can we make requests? How about a picture of that Chiminea?Did I mention my kid got a S’mores making kit for Christmas. Too bad we don’t have anywhere to build a campfire. Poor little tyke. She just looks up at me, tears welling in her eyes, and says, "But Daddy, you said the man PROMISED we could have the Chiminea . . ."

  9. Sarcastro Says:

    The chiminea is sitting lonely and sad out in the backyard waiting for someone, anyone to come and take her to live with a nice family in the Antioch Pike area.

  10. Mack Says:

    Yes, but "campfire" isn’t really what I would use to describe a tiny flame emitting from a chiminea. You want to cook smores? Make you a deal. Come on out, help me ring an area I have in mind with large stones, and you can come over and cook smores anytime you want. I thought I already posted this, but the blog ate it I guess….

  11. john h Says:

    i was hoping for a ‘grilled’ art series..a pic a week of the various states of the grill, rust, and meat drippings at the time the art was committed.

  12. SistaSmiff Says:

    When you said your "grill" I thought "Yay! We’re going to see a closeup of Sarc’s teeth!"You really meant your grill.

  13. Sarcastro Says:

    I not a 14 year old white kid trying to be hep.Around these parts, grill means grill.

Leave a Reply

