You Blockhead

by

There are plenty of other reviews and summaries of the events last night. Many of them with pictures! A couple of shots from the ol’ tequila bottle and we were off to the races. I got to meet quite a few folks, like Glen Dean, RUABelle, Ginger, saraclark and Kate O. It is always good to get to know the other folks in the community. What I didn’t bargain on was being asked, “Why are you such a jerk?”, upon entering the Mothership. Oddly enough, that was pretty much the welcome waiting for me when I got back home, too. Anticipating the cold front over my connubial bed kept me out of jag’s bottle of Beam. Turns out, that greeting came to pass because I had pissed off Aunt B about something that she took way out of context. If this weren’t the 465th time this had happened, I probably would be more concerned. As usual, I will have to eat a bowl of shit and all will be right both at home and abroad.

Regrettably, I didn’t get to really meet some of the other bloggers. I saw Muffy Wong and B-dub during the evening, but never got a good chance to say hello. Unless, I’ve already met them and forgot. I’m beginning to think I have a medical condition called prosopagnosia. A few weeks ago, I met Busy Mom for the second time. Well, the second time for her. First time for me. Again. This has happened on a few occasions. It happened with Rex L. Camino last night. I looked right at him, he looked at me dead in the eye. My brain is telling me I know that guy from somewhere. Finally, I had to ask someone. I forget who. I thought I saw Bill Hobbs coming in the door, but fuck me running, it could have been anyone.

This same thing happened at a college alumni golf tournament I played in a couple of years ago. I walked into a room full of people I had known for years and didn’t recognize a soul. How they recognized me with the Green Arrow mustache beard combo and the extra forty pounds remains a mystery. After I had redeployed to the bar to try to figure out what was going on, one of the strangers came up to me and re-introduced himself as someone I had known since Reagan was in office.

This afternoon, we are going to Mrs. Sarcastro’s company Christmas party. Very few of her coworkers I actually know and should be able to remember who they are.

In the meantime, enjoy this version of Charlie Brown Christmas as performed by the cast of Scrubs.

10 Responses to “You Blockhead”

  1. Kate O' Says:

    I’m still all a-twitter over meeting you in person. Next time I want to do a round of tequila shots together. And maybe we can take a few puffs on Rex’s pipe after that.

  2. john h Says:

    I thought that the Bill Hobb’s apparitional appearance was a figment of Ivy’s evolving drunkeneness…The picture of you and ‘B’ on some blog somewhere I looked at this morning is..choice..that’s the word.

  3. Ginger Says:

    I was so excited to meet the Sarcastro in person! I’m in awe.

  4. Rex L. Camino Says:

    A look dead in the eye is usually followed by an ass whoopin. That is, unless I think you can take me. Then it’s not.

  5. Holiday Grinch Says:

    It was great to see you again.

  6. Sarcastro Says:

    Dammit Grinch, like I don’t feel bad enough about forgetting to list you as one of the people I met the other night.Now, you are cracking wise with my ‘Memento’ problem.Well played.

  7. john h Says:

    Hey Ginger – A second meeting will be required.

  8. Kerry Woo Says:

    I look forward to meeting you again now that you were deported from West Nashville to a far away zip code. Thanks for not hitting on my wife…. although she was amused by you and Sista!

  9. saraclark Says:

    I should have introduced myself before calling you a bastard. I’m just so used to the perfectly inserted smart ass comment that I was trying to get ahead. Nice to meet you.

  10. Sarcastro Says:

    I would have been totally fine with "Hi, I’m saraclark. You are a total bastard."Instead, I wound up thinking, "Jesus. Total strangers are now coming up to me and calling me a bastard. This blog thing is really taking off!"

Leave a Reply

