When The Music’s Over

by

From the get-go, let me just say that I’m not here to defend The Doors. They certainly have their detractors of late. Personally, I blame lazy classic-rock radio programmers who have rammed the sundry singles from The Doors catalogue down our throats for the last forty years.

22804_lg.jpg

That band was one of the big influences during high school. It was around the time No One Here Gets Out Alive was selling briskly. I carried my copy around like a wandering Jew schlepping the Torah. Rolling Stone had an iconic cover which proclaimed, Jim Morrison. He’s hot, he’s sexy and he’s dead. Little did we know that would spawn a generation of goth chicks and really bad poetry.

Much to the relief of my parents, I moved on to different bands. I avoided Morrison’s fate of turning into a fat, drunken, shadow of his former self; dying in Paris of a heroin overdose. Ok, so I avoided dying of a heroin overdose.

In a moment of recent serendipity, the locals have been slagging The Doors roughly about the same time the legendary club CBGB was closing its doors. Now there is certainly an argument that can be made for The Doors having a connection to that fabled venue.

Iggy Pop and The Stooges certainly took their inspirado from Morrison and Company. But when it comes to bad poetry, no one comes close to Patti Smith, who performed at the closing of CBGB.

If we want to start compiling the list of worst acts to ever put vocal to vinyl. The list has to include Patti Smith. Add the factoid that more shitty bands were started after listening to Horses than any other record, save one.

b000002g7c09lzzzzzzz.jpg

That record belongs to Lou Reed and The Velvet Underground. That is the most overrated shit ever. From the pretentious Warhol cover to the awful vocals to the insipid cacophony of the music. It could only be worse if they were still together.

Yeah, Sweet Jane is a good song. Especially when covered by somebody else. I would rather hear The Doors version of that tune than The Velvet Underground. Throw in the number of shitty bands that figured they had a shot after hearing this record, and Lou Reed has a lot to answer for.

Listening to this record is probably what caused Morrison to overdose.

6 Responses to “When The Music’s Over”

  1. Jagosaurus Says:

    Sweet Jane covered by the Cowboy Junkies is pretty righteous too. I would rather drive upholstery tacks into my gums than listen to the Velvet Underground.I like exactly one Patti Smith song and even it gets on my nerves when she starts that odd chanting near the end (Dancing Barefoot). And though it may seem nigh impossible, I am largely indifferent to the Doors.

  2. Aunt B. Says:

    Folks who don’t like Velvet Underground? I have found my people.

  3. Holiday Grinch Says:

    You don’t love Heroin?

  4. saraclark Says:

    Everybody loves heroin, what are you thinking. I don’t get the Patti Smith thing, I never did. Oddly, she looks just as fucked up and addled as she ever did. No one can top the Cowboy Junkies’ cover of Sweet Jane. Good call Jag.I think the Velvet Underground was one of those time and space type bands, where you just had to be there at that moment. Out of context and after 15 minutes, they were done.I have always wondered just how bad Jim Morrison’s leather pants smelled after he wore them over and over for gig after gig. They had to get ripe.

  5. Mack Says:

    Man, I kinda liked the doors. Cant remember the keyboard player’s name, (ray?) but I thought they had a unique sound, and catchy hooks, and all that other nifty music stuff. I used to love "Crystal Ship." I guess I forget sometimes that Nashville is a "Music Town", and people here can be unforgiving about it…

  6. Vic Says:

    Amen on the whole Velvet Underground thing. "Because the Night" by Patti Smith was good, but hey, she had a pretty decent cowriter on that one.I kinda like the Doors. Not love, like. As far as Jim Morrison being some sort of great poet? Please…

Leave a Reply

