Let It Go

by

B, having missed most of the fun at her own place, keeps flogging a dead slave er, horse. Let her spin her double-talk.

Huey Freeman says it best:

9 Responses to “Let It Go”

  1. Katherine Coble Says:

    That was disgusting.

  2. Sarcastro Says:

    Does this mean you won’t be getting The Boondocks Season 1 on DVD?

  3. Gandalf Mantooth Says:

    you do have a skill for mixing metaphors, I’ll give you that.

  4. Katherine Coble Says:

    Yeah, pretty sure I am not a "boondocks" fan.

  5. Sarcastro Says:

    I would honestly be interested in exactly what you found offensive in that clip, KC.

  6. Katherine Coble Says:

    If I could describe it I would. I think my reaction was mostly visceral. I’ve now watched it twice more to put my finger on it.1. What’s the message to B. supposed to be? 2. The animation kinda gave me the chills. Was that the same animator who did the Origin of O-Ren segment of Kill Bill? It looks stylistically similar.3. The voiceover and the use of the word "nigga" really bothered me. Perhaps I’m well-conditioned, but I just really don’t like hearing that word any more than I like hearing "C—t". 4. I get what the video is trying to say–that these two men have let emotion get in the way of reason. But that happens a lot, with people of all colours. Why does it have to be "A Nigga Moment" and not an "Idiot moment" or whatever.I dunno anything about the origin of this cartoon, whether the creator was black, white or green. Maybe it’s a minstrel show, and maybe it’s Black Community Inside Baseball. Either way I didn’t really love it all that much. If it’s a minstrel show where I’m supposed to derive entertainment from the yassabossin’ of stereotypical blacks, then there you have my problem with it. If it’s BCIB then I lack the requisite social background to appreciate it’s nuance I suppose.Those are probably all flimsy responses, but that’s my reaction.

  7. Sarcastro Says:

    Fair enough, KC.The clip isn’t really in context. It isn’t to everyone’s taste.If you are as racist as me, it is pretty damn funny.

  8. Exador Says:

    That clip led me to watching Boondocks clips all night on youtube.

  9. Gandalf Mantooth Says:

    Yes KC it is inside baseball of a sort, a criticism of some behaviors of some in the "community" via a vivid parody. I don’t think it requires as much contextual understanding as you think, though. Also, a visceral reaction is valid. McGruder’s criticisms seem much sharper in four panels than they do animated.

Leave a Reply

