Dairy Dip Update

by

As many readers may remember, I teed off on Bobbie’s Dairy Dip a few weeks ago.  We had an less than average experience and I made some comments that were unkind.

The proprietor of BDD wrote an excellent response in the comments: 

I am so sorry to hear about your bad experience at Bobbie’s. I’ve owned the joint for 7 years and really do lose sleep when I hear a complaint. We adore our customers who, like you, are often there with their children, just looking to have good food and ice cream at a fun and different place. To hear that you had so much go wrong during your visit just kills me.

First of all, a chicken sandwich and two hamburger "combos"(that’s 2 hamburgers with 2 small fries and a large soda) should have cost a total of $19.50 including the whopping 9.25% sales tax. If you were overcharged, I am horrified and embarrased, but I do wish you would have said something, as the staff is instructed to always double check an order if it is questioned by a customer. Our prices are obviously higher than other chain fast food places. We take pride in serving fresh food cooked to order, using fresh certified angus beef and real cheddar for the burgers and peeling and cooking over 50 lbs. of potatoes a day for our fries. It simply costs more to provide that type of quality and I’m sorry that you thought the food only "passable". We do have a limited kids menu with either a hot dog, corn dog or turkey dog, fries and a small drink or cone for $4.00. It’s on the menu, but perhaps your children are like my son….he would never order from the kid’s menu on the principle that it assumed he only liked mac & cheese and chicken tenders and small portions at that. I inadvertently raised a food snob.

Second and even more horrifying to me, is that your impression of your server was that he/she was a stoner. While I can’t honestly say that my every hire has been terrific, I nevertheless am kind of proud that I have managed to find some really nice, intelligent kids who "get" what we’re trying to do at Bobbie’s and who enjoy what we do there and our customers. There are always a few that don’t quite get it; they either don’t last very long or manage to actually learn and sometimes turn out to be some of my better staff members. Certainly if I thought that anyone on my staff was high at work, they would be terminated immediately. I usually hear raves about how nice my staff is, so I would certainly appreciate hearing some more details (a description of the person or the date and time you were there) so that I can address the situation. And the fact that this same person confused your raspberry shake order for a strawberry shake is infuriating to me….although I like both shakes, the raspberry is pretty special.

Finally.. …..nothing makes me sadder than to hear
that someone didn’t like our ice cream. I could write a book about about the machinations we go through to keep our ice cream of a consistently high quality. I am just so sorry that your kids didn’t like it. Recently we have tried a special recipe where we add high butter-fat cream to the lower butterfat fresh Purity product to increase richness. This is after years of importing a high butterfat, absolutely delicious ice cream from a New Jersey supplier, since we could find nothing comparable from any local suppliers. We had to order a week in advance, accept an 80 case minimum which we would then have to take to a frozen storage facility in Smyrna and drive there a few times a week (and only open during M-Fri business hours) to pull fresh product. It became an impossible undertaking. I have been trying alternate suppliers, product, recipes, etc. ever since in order to find product equal in quality to that which we were getting from New Jersey without the associated nervous breakdowns occasioned by late deliveries, inaccessible product on the weekends, and being stuck in traffic on I24 heading back from Smyrna in 90 degree heat. Interestingly, while I’m generally happy with what we have now, I, too, am not 100% sold on the chocolate flavor from Purity; perhaps your children have an exceptionally good palate, but I have literally heard no other complaints and I do specifically ask customers about this.

I haven’t had time to read the rest of your site and I don’t believe I know you personally…..so I will leave your name (after tonight) at the store with instructions that you and your children are to receive 3 Combo meals (sandwich, fries and shakes or sodas) and three desserts of choice. I can only hope that your second experience will be a better one. We really do try to make everyone’s experience at Bobbie’s fun and special; if we fail, we will try to make it up to you.

Please accept my personal apology and appreciation for the heads-up.

Best,
Claire Mullally
Propietor
Bobbie’s Dairy Dip
Nashville, TN.

That works nicely.  I will definitely go back to BDD.  Not for the free food, which is a nice offer, but not the point.  But, because the owner took that kind of time to address the problems that a customer encountered without sounding like a corporate drone’s form letter. 

I’ve only seen this same kind of passion and dedication to customer satisfaction at the Mothership.  Most other places, especially chain restaurants, don’t really care.  In the restaurant biz, there’s a saying that a happy customer tells one person about a good experience.  But, a unhappy customer will tell ten people about a bad experience.  I told about 200 people.  The only thing a restaurant can do to turn a dissatisfied customer into a satisfied one is to get them back with the promise to do better next time.

Claire has earned my patronage and I plan to give BDD another shot.

8 Responses to “Dairy Dip Update”

  1. S&F Says:

    I don’t know anything about "butterfat"…but for some reason I bet it tastes good….probably not as good as my dry Cheerios…i want butterfat

  2. S&F Says:

    I don’t know anything about "butterfat"…but for some reason I bet it tastes good….probably not as good as my dry Cheerios…i want butterfat

  3. peptodismal Says:

    Your crowburger is up.

  4. CeeElCee Says:

    I’m hungry. What’s your last name so I can pick a few random kids up at the park and go get some vittles…I’m just sayin’ if you’re not gonna take her up on her offer…

  5. newscoma Says:

    I think it’s cool she addressed your issues. Going back will probably not just get you an ice cream, but a pony.MmmMMmmm.Butterfat.

  6. Kerry Woo Says:

    Claire did good ! – rather than repeat my experience with Chappy’s on Church, where the owner was insensitive to our concerns and walked away from us, Claire ran the extra mile to her customer and made it right. Good stuff! You can read it for yourself how we got the Royal Chapping on Church: http://wonderdawg777.blogspot.com/2006/08/so-whats-your-problem.html

  7. Sarcastro Says:

    That’s one rotten dining experience, Kerry. Chappy won’t be open a year from now. He will, of course, place the blame on FEMA, Brownie, Katrina, Nagin, Blanco, Bush and the unsophisticated palate of the Nashville resident.

  8. Lesley Says:

    That’s good to know. I took some friends to BBD last weekend and–guess what–one got the chocolate and was not overwhelmed with joy. At least Claire knows to work on it. Personally, I don’t like chocolate ice cream. Tooeey.

Leave a Reply

