Mea Culpa

by

I haven’t been doing my part.  I know that.  I’m sorry.  Things have changed.  There’s a lot on my mind.  Sometimes it feels like there is too much on my plate.  I want to lock the doors and never leave the house.  Part of it is the financial situation.  The business is going down the tubes and taking me with it.  I need to find work. I have a new family to support.  I don’t have the time or the money or the motivation, anymore.  This is all my fault.

I’ve let you down, Nashville.  We only made it to #35 in the list of Drunkest Cities in America.  Milwaukee is number one.  I’m sorry, I just can’t do it anymore.  My liver hates me and wants to die.  No mas.

I’ve had to cut way back on imbibing.   Drunken Stepfather is a good website and all, but not a positive role model for our nation’s youth.  When we went to see the Braves play the Reds in Cincy, I didn’t drink all weekend.  Do you know how fucking boring baseball is without beer?  Do you?

We got beat in this poll by honest to god Drinking Towns like St. Louis and Pittsburgh.   But, Portland and Seattle?  Those are pussy towns.  How did a bunch of coffee-peddling smack addicts beat us at drinking?  It can’t just be me.  I think the churches must shoulder a good chunk of the blame for this.  Dicks.  If your god loved you so much that he sent his son down to die, but he doesn’t love you enough to let you have a glass of merlot with dinner on Sunday?

 I’m gonna get on that old turnpike and I’m gonna ride
I’m gonna leave this town ’til you decide
Which one you want the most them Opry stars or me
Milwaukee here I come from Nashville, Tennessee

3 Responses to “Mea Culpa”

  1. sgazzetti Says:

    Merlot, cabernet, whatever. I can’t believe all those blue laws are still going on over there. Oh. Wait. Given this (http://www.armorofgodpjs.com/) I can TOTALLY BELIEVE all those blue laws are still going on over there.

  2. Katherine Coble Says:

    I said it over there and I’ll say it over here. The no-wine-on-Sundays bugs me, but not as much as the have-to-go-to-special-stores does.What do they think will happen if you can actually buy the wine at the grocery? Mass chaos?Anyway, sorry about the business. I know that’s a major stressor.

  3. Katherine Coble Says:

    "Do you know how fucking boring baseball is without beer? Do you?"Yes.Oh. Yes.

Leave a Reply

