The Glorious Loyalty Oath Crusade

by

KittyCo is calling into question the Pledge of Allegiance.

My axe to grind with the pledge agrees with Kat’s axe to grind. We have axes in common.

It seems, forgive me, but a sort of nationalistic version of the Barney theme. Just another rote series of sing-song words that has no deeper significance.

Tell it sister!

Allegiance is an important concept, and I think the current use of the pledge as a nursery-school rhyme a la Mother Goose deprives it of any significance.

How many of you spent your days in school absent-mindedly muttering the Pledge while your mind was elsewhere?  How many of you made up your own funny words, always using the word "invisible" instead of "indivisible"? 

Meaningless loyalty oaths for children are a good method of indoctrination, but hardly intstills true patriotism and understanding of what our country stands for. As far as I can tell, it only provides a Pavlovian response whenever it, or flag burning, are brought up in public discourse.

Also, strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government, but never mind that right now. 

Here would be my more Constitution-centric version, which is more like the Oath of Enlistment than the Barney-ish/Emily Dickinson sing-songy Pledge currently in use.

"I, (state your name), do solemnly swear that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States from all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservations or purpose of evasion; and that I will faithfully discharge the duties of citizenship, So help me God." 

4 Responses to “The Glorious Loyalty Oath Crusade”

  1. jagosaurus Says:

    "Meaningless loyalty oaths for children are a good method of indoctrination, but hardly instill true patriotism and understanding of what our country stands for."Yes.

  2. Rachel Says:

    I agree with both you and Kat about the meaningless loyalty oaths for children. What strikes me in particular is that there was never any conversation with us as students as to why it was important or necessary for us to use classroom time reciting said oath each and every morning.

  3. Sarcastro Says:

    Exactly. We aren’t exactly raising a new generation of leaders if we condition them to act like sheep.

  4. newscoma Says:

    I didn’t say this over at Kat’s site, but my niece says "one pissivity" when she says it which makes me laugh.

Leave a Reply

