De Oppresso Liber

by

When a nation is filled with strife, then do patriots flourish.  Lao Tzu

Death has a tendency to encourage a depressing view of war.  Donald Rumsfeld

Memorial Day isn’t just the official start of summer.  Most folks associate it with "um, something to do with veterans and the day the condo association opens the pool."  

Today we honor our dead.  Specifically, the holiday is for our war dead.  Over time, the holiday has evolved into a rememberance of our family dead, and for classic rock stations, the day we remember Jimi, Janis, Mama Cass and  Mr. Mojo Risin’. 

I’ve been fortunate that all of my comrades, as far as I know, have thankfully come home alive.   Although, today while fixing the regulator valve on my gas grill, I’ll be thinking about a guy I never had the honor to meet. 

Jeremy Chandler attended North Georgia College and State University.  Like so many who matriculated from my alma mater, he received a commission in the Army immediately following graduation.  Although he was nine years behind me in school, we had many of the same professors and instructors. 

For what I assume were tax reasons, he listed Clarksville, TN as his place of residence.  I did the same thing during my active-duty time.  He was stationed at Ft. Bragg and was on his third deployment to Afghanistan.  He died while conducting training in Demolition Operations.

At a time when our nation needs men of his caliber and  excellence, he will be missed.  He died last August.  He died not from enemy fire, but while fulfilling the Special Forces motto of liberating the oppressed.  I sincerely hope the Afghanis and Iraqis prove worthy of the cost.

Victory is no cause for rejoicing
If you rejoice in victory, then you delight in slaughter;
If you delight in slaughter you will not succeed
in your ambition to rule the world.
Enter the battle gravely
with hearts full of sorrow.
A victory must be observed like a funeral.

Tao Te Ching, 31 

 

Lo, there do I see my father
Lo, there do I see my mother and my sisters

and my brothers
Lo, there do I see the line of my people back

to the beginning
Lo, they do call to me
They bid me take my place among the
m
in the Hall of Valhalla

Where the brave may live forever..

Norse Invocation to Battle, The 13th Warrior

—–

One Response to “De Oppresso Liber”

  1. Pulling Out Is Hard To Do « Watching The Defectives Says:

    […] Out Is Hard To Do Here it is, another Memorial Day.  For a change, I’d like to turn on the news and see more dead televangelists than dead […]

Leave a Reply

