Three Out of Ten is Considered Great

by

 Ernest Lawrence Thayer can go suck it.  Here is a poem that resonates with the daily struggle everyone faces:

"I Am A Baseball Player" 

I am a baseball player who is playing a game.
I wonder if I am going to hit the ball.
I hear the crowd screaming.
I see the pitcher looking at me.
I want to hit the ball.
I am a baseball player who is playing a game.

I pretend to hit the ball.
I feel very strong.
I touch the bat as hard as I can.
I worry I will miss the ball.
I am a baseball player who is playing a game.

I understand that I might miss the ball.
I say to myself, "I can do it".
I dream I will hit a homerun.
I try to hit it.
I hope I will hit the ball.
I am a baseball player who is playing a game. 

Chris Carey, age 11. 

—–

Leave a Reply

