Meanwhile, at the Hall of Justice…

by

con_sbf_1.jpg Freedom of speech is at stake here, don’t you all see? If anything, we should all make cartoons of Mohammed and show the terrorists and the extremists that we are all united in the belief that every person has a right to say what they want. Look people, it’s been really easy for us to stand up for free speech lately. For the past few decades, we haven’t had to risk anything to defend it. One of those times is right now. And if we aren’t willing to risk what we have now, then we just believe in free speech, but won’t defend it.
South Park, Cartoon Wars 1.

The little tempest in a teapot we have experienced here in Nashville concerning a cartoon making fun of the Islamic Prophet Mohammed, has a counterpart out in the big world.  The last two episodes of South Park have led up to a depiction of Mohammed, which was a test to see if the suits at Comedy Central would "puss out".  They did indeed puss out.  Frankly, I think B-Ho pussed out, too.

Let me make something really clear, I don’t give a shit about your god.  Whoever he or she is, what ever -ism you feel compelled to follow, all of that is inconsequential to me.  Worship whatever invisible pal you want.  It doesn’t affect me, until I have to modify my behavior because of your sensitivites.  You can proclaim that the giant Kool-Aid pitcher or the late Jim Varney to be your Lord and Savior.  Fine.  But, I’m not going to give up some of my rights so you can exercise yours.  The Catholics want to eat a Filet-O-Fish on Friday, be my guests.  The Mormons want to marry  gaggles of teenage girls off to creepy old men, fine by me.  The Jews want two sets of dishes to keep Kosher, knock yourselves out.  Nowhere in those sample idiosyncracies is anyone outside of their subset expected to be affected, inconvenienced or imposed upon.  Well, except for the damn Catholics and this fish nonsense.  Bullying the public schools into serving fish sticks every Friday was bullshit, and you know it.  By the time I got to Church of Christ school, where they served that cool rectangle pizza every Friday, I forgot about the damn fish sticks and momentarily forgot about how full of shit the CofC was due to the tastiness of said pizza.  But, I digress.  Let’s get back to the cartoons.

In this particular incident, there is the prohibition amongst Muslims to showing depictions of Mohammed, and I believe his immediate family.  Contrast that with the Catholics, who can’t get enough of putting Jesus and his mom on everything and anything.  They also have cornered the market on finding the face of Mother Mary in just about every driveway oil stain, closet door, grilled cheese sandwich and greasy hospital window across the land.  Not to beat up unnecessarily (again) on the Catholics, but you are some crazy-ass, superstitious motherfuckers.

Getting back to the Muslims, evidently some of those crazy-ass, superstitious motherfuckers got their panties in a wad over a cartoon published in a Danish newspaper that depicted Mohammed.  They pulled their usual shit of making themselves look like a bunch of blood thirsty, backwards dimwits.  Rioting, calling for the deaths of Jim Davis and Bil Keane, pointlessly blowing themselves and others up, you know, the usual dumbassery.  Instead of saying, "This is why you primitive bastards can’t be allowed to have nuclear weapons", the world got all nervous and squeamish about offending the aforementioned primitive bastards.

This is the point in the conversation where I point out that if the Muslims would get as upset about, I dunno, beheadings, suicide bombings, cliterectiomies, child slavery or any of the other truly offensive shit that goes on in their tent in the name of Allah, then maybe I could see their point.  But they don’t.  So fuck them and their little cartoon outrage. 

 Hobbs had nothing to apologize about.  Unless the Scene is going to apologize for putting some picture that mocks Jesus in their paper this week.  Yep, the same issue that has Spragens dragging Hobbs over the coals, there is some dumb picture that denigrates someone’s beliefs as a way to advertise for the art exhibit at Cheekwood that would make Fred Phelps burn the joint to the ground.  Again, I don’t really care who you make fun of, it is all protected under the First Amendment.  But in the case, the Scene is just fucking hypocritical.

In that same vein of hypocrisy, Comedy Central banned the depiction of Mohammed on last night’s episode.  Despite their having had no problem with offending Muslims before this thing turned into a big rhubarb.

The South Park episode, Super Best Friends, aired originally on July 4, 2001.  It featured Mohammed as a superhero who could shoot fire, as part of a group of superhero/religous icons.  He has also been featured in the opening credits of at least the last three South Park episodes.

If you want to see the South Park episode that dared to show the face of Big Mo’ back in 2001, click here.

Oh, and by the way,  fuck William Donohue and his dumbass Catholic League.   If I have to choose between The Pope and The Bill of Rights, I’ll take the Bill of Rights.

13 Responses to “Meanwhile, at the Hall of Justice…”

  1. Huck Says:

    I gotta agree with you. Hobbes was well within his rights and should have stuck to his guns. I say that as someone who makes no apologies for once displaying a Darwin/Fish Emblem on my car.Spragens went the wrong way with this one.

  2. Peptodismal Says:

    Spragens needs to brush up on his ROP technical manual — the offensive behavior section is rather long and hard to comply with.Hobbs should have never given a millimeter.I have to go take some goat entrails over to the Parthenon for Athena, then Thor and I are going to have a beer and toss a few rounds of lightning.

  3. Exador Says:

    I saw the hour of southpark last night, then sent an email to Comedy Central, to tell them what a bunch of pussies they are.

  4. Exador Says:

    Funny how Comedy Central had no problem showing Jesus Christ GETTING SHIT ON, immediately after censoring a very benign image of Mo.

  5. Sarcastro Says:

    I think that was the point that Matt and Trey were illustrating. They could show Jesus crapping on Bush, the flag, and whatever and not be censored, but a pic of Mo walking in the door handing Peter Griffin a football helmet with a fish on it is Verboten.

  6. Katherine Coble Says:

    I would never worship the Kool-aid pitcher. He scares the crap out of me. Like a really superdestructive clown with no genitals. I was always traumatised by the way he’d knock down buildings.

  7. Exador Says:

    So what? You’d feel better if he had genitalia?Cause that would freak me out.

  8. Katherine Coble Says:

    Stop me before I break out the Photoshop.

  9. Exador Says:

    I think that may be my Halloween costume this year; the Kool-Aid pitcher guy with HUGE genitalia.

  10. Exador Says:

    Hey, we were boozing it up on Messiah blood long before you Johnny-come-lately types were nailing shit on church doors.Superstitious, indeed.

  11. Sarcastro Says:

    Your comments puzzle me Exador.Are you assuming the mantle of Catholicism out of convenience today? Shouldn’t you be out celebrating Samhain, or was that just a phase?And, just what church did the thesis nailers belong to before they started their church door bulletin board behavior? Pretty sure they were Papist stooges before the veil of ignorance was lifted from their eyes.

  12. David Says:

    Ok here’s a random question. In the picture shown at the top of the screen (the food tray with an orange, grape juice, corn, and a piece of pizza), is there any way you could tell me the company you bought the pizza from?? I really love this pizza and i’ve been searching for a long time? Is there any way you could find this out for me? My email is trombonedude13@yahoo.com Thanks a bunch.

  13. Sarcastro Says:

    I dunno, dude. It is just the picture that came up when I Googled "rectangle pizza".

Leave a Reply

