Spring Reading

by

Here are a couple of books that may interest those of you with library cards or unused gift certificates from Christmas:

Thomas Jefferson:  Author of America by Christopher Hitchens.   For a drink soaked Trotskyite, this dude sure knows his way around American history.  I’m a big Hitchens fan.  His appearances on cable television pundit shows and essays in Slate are always informing and entertaining.  This book is part of a series called Eminent Lives.  At 208 pages it isn’t by any means exhaustive, but hits all the high points while making it clear the true impact that Jefferson had on our great nation.

Hemingway’s Chair by Michael Palin.  The former Python and world traveller brings us a slice of small town English life and one particular Hemingway loving resident in particular.   If you are familiar with his other works, you will see his distinctive brand of humor displayed throughout.  The ending needs work.  All of his books are available online free at his website.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini.   This book is going to haunt me for a while.  Let’s not get too worked up and overly enthusiastic, but this novel is to Afghanistan what To Kill A Mockingbird is to the American South. Rumor has it the novel is in pre-production for translation to the screen.  Damn, it better be half as good as the book.   There are at least three places in the book where I loudly exclaimed "Holy shit!", after reading.  There is really only one reveal that occurs that made me say "Saw that one coming."  It is tragic, beautiful, funny and highly illuminative overall.

Next on the reading list:  IRS Form 1040

 

7 Responses to “Spring Reading”

  1. Sarcastro's Sugar Momma Says:

    Make that IRS 1040 x2.

  2. Amanda Says:

    I’ve got to give ‘the kite runner’ a thumbs down. I thought it was really manipulative and that major points of the plot rested on ridiculous conicidences that really don’t fly outside of fantasy/magical realism. I think that it could have been a great story without some of those ‘twists’, especially because you can imagine the author had intended the book to raise the level of awareness about the modern history of Afghanistan. I think that some of the outlandishness the reader is expected to accept takes away from that.Anyways, my two cents. Reading is fundamental!

  3. Katherine Coble Says:

    I’ve heard nothing but raves about (IIH)Kite Runner(QII), but haven’t yet picked it up. Until I read Amanda’s comment I was finally convinced it was a good thing, now I’m back to the land of confusion.Great.I’ll probably get it anyway.And, BTW, did you ever get all the way through HP, or have you just decided we’re all too crazy.

  4. Sarcastro Says:

    Amanda disliked the book because she and Chris hate America. Or haven’t you heard?I made it thru the first two HP books. The big problem having seen the movies first is that, well, I’d already seen the movies. The books are good, but I haven’t joined your cult.

  5. Amanda Says:

    You can borrow my copy. Someone more industrious than me should set up some sort of blogger book exchange. The best description of Harry Potter I’ve ever heard is that they are the ‘literary equivalent of crack’. Chris’ friend got him a set of the first three books for his birthday and I sort of casually picked up the first one (having seen the movie and not been impressed). Needless to say, at the end of the week I had read all three, my eyes were bloodshot and I may have started having tremors. Anyways, Chris still hasn’t read any of them. He has some anti-fiction bias.

  6. Chris Wage Says:

    Print is dead. I collect spores, mold, and fungus.Also, one of our client is frugalreader.com which is some sort of book-exchange service, though I haven’t investigating it very thoroughly.

  7. Katherine Coble Says:

    I’ve got about 3 dozen books to lend to people (Ivy being at the top of the list) but I just never show up to where everyone is at.And Amanda, you REALLY need to get your hands on the other 3 books. It’s just getting good.Ignore Sarcastro. He has lost his childhood, like the evil parents in Peter Pan.

Leave a Reply

