I Gotcher Meme Hangin’, Ringo

by

The America Hating Expatriate JDS has tagged me.  Pardon me, that isn’t an appropriate introduction.  I apologize.  I meant to say The America, Children, Old People and Cute Pet Hating, Diabolically Evil, Expatriate JDS has tagged me.

In the last installment of Internet Chain Letter of Picayune Interest, he excoriated me for tagging him and slowly roasted my bones over the sulfur pit on the patio.  It was either a sulfur pit or a Weber kettle, I can’t recall.  And instead of a patio, it may have been a lanai.  But, I digress.

[1] Name 5 of your favorite books

 *A Soldier of The Great War–JDS turned me on to this one back when we were soldiers once…and young.  It proved to be the great novel he had proclaimed it as.  Just about everything else Helprin has written has turned out to be a let down by comparison.

*Catch-22  If you are in the Army and can’t identify with Yossarian at some point during your enlistment, I have some bad news for you.  You are part of the problem.

*A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius   If  self-indulgent, self-absorbed memoirs are wrong, I don’t want to be right.

*The Stand  I don’t think of this so much as just a novel, but as my most fervent wish come true everytime I go to Wal-Mart.

*Guns, Germs and Steel  This one should be required reading for every person who wants to spout off in public about human development over the last 10,000 years. 

[2] What was the last book you bought? 

Uh, er, probably one of the Harry Potter books.  Don’t look at me like that.  It was research.  I wanted to see what all the fuss was about.  Now I know how Pete Townsend feels

[3] What was the last book you read? 

 I’m thinkin’ that was probably Belushi.  Excellent oral biography of the late, great comedian.

[4] Name five books that have particularly meaningful for you.

*David Hackworth’s memoir of life as a soldier, About Face.   It informed my opinions of the difference between how military life should be and how it is in reality.  Between that and Catch-22, you would think I would have learned something.

*The Velveteen Rabbit. I haven’t thought of that book in years and have no idea what it is about anymore.   All I do know is that it seemed like a damned important book when I was a tyke, so there is that ineffable link to childhood that this book represents.  I can’t explain it.

*The Redneck Manifesto.  I loaned my copy to Aunt B.  It is raw and crude and fearless in its opinions regarding racial politics in this country.  Maybe that’s what we need instead of tiptoeing around that particluar land mine of American politics.

*Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas   I read this and Thompson’s Hells Angels in the space of a few weeks when I was in high school.  To say that it influenced my writing and consumption skills  would be accurate.  Much the same way that saying The Simpsons influenced Family Guy would be accurate.

Chuck Palahniuk’s Lullaby has had a tremendous impact on me.  It has made me search for an African cullling song to sing every time I go to Wal-Mart.   In fact, when I find it, I will be going to Wal-Mart more often.

[5] Three books you are dying to read but just haven’t yet.

*Collapse by Jared Diamond.  Kind of a natural follow-up to Guns, Germs and Steel. 

*The Third Policeman by Flann O’Brien.   Drunken Irishman writes surreal comedy novel that somehow is connected to what is going on in the show Lost.   Currently this one is sitting in the bullpen waiting for me to pick it up and get started.  Need more Bushmill’s first.

*On Bullshit by Harry  G. Frankfurt .  The opening passage is, "One of the most salient features of our culture is that there is so much bullshit. Everyone knows this. Each of us contributes his share. But we tend to take the situation for granted."  Harry, you had me at bullshit.

[6] Tag five people to go through this same ordeal.

Exador

Huck

BOM

Kitty Coble who has probably already played this game.

And I suppose, Aunt B. , who doesn’t get nearly enough attention.

2 Responses to “I Gotcher Meme Hangin’, Ringo”

  1. Chris Wage Says:

    Did you ever read Heller’s "sequel" to Catch-22, Closing Time?It’s a very odd book.. I’d like to re-read both of them sometime..

  2. Exador Says:

    I hated Catch-22, but that might just be because I hate Alan Arkin.

Leave a Reply

