Got To Get Me One Of Those “Companions”

by

Once the football games yesterday turned out to be less than thrilling gridiron action, I was forced to find alternative entertainment on the shittiest, rainiest, laziest day of the year. 

Comcast is showing the entire run of Firefly in their On Demand digital whirlygig thingamabob.  As I always try to be on the cutting edge of popular culture, I thought I would watch some of this show that has been cancelled for over two years or so.

Apparently Jason Bateman, Tera Patrick and the black guy from Barney Miller are space cowboys.  Well I think it was Jason Bateman and Tera Patrick, I didn’t pay attention to the credits.  It could have been Fred Gwynne and Eve Arden for all I know.

It was a fine show and now I know what all the geeks were yammering about when it was on and the subsequent theatrical film came out.  I was wrong it’s pretty damn good.

Anyway the Comcastards have it for $2.99 for three episodes.  Much like crack cocaine or key lime pie, it is hard to put down once you’ve started.

5 Responses to “Got To Get Me One Of Those “Companions””

  1. Katherine Coble Says:

    I kinda liked the movie, but I haven’t been able to get into the tv show. I should do as you have done and watch from the beginning, I suppose. I picked up whatever episodes TiVo grabbed, and they’re in no sequential order.

  2. Short and Fat Says:

    The dude from DC Cab (instant classic) is also on Firefly.Now I want some Key Lime pie.

  3. Big O Michael Says:

    Welcome to the world of Firefly. Glad you found it. :)I’m a huge fan, as you may have heard.You know, I’m just saying that for the price of the On-Demand eps on ComCast, you can buy the DVD set…and then you get the commentaries by Joss that are hilariously self-deprecating.

  4. Sarcastro Says:

    That dude from DC Cab got his start on My Bodyguard. The best thing about that picture is when the shrimpy kid from Meatballs punches Matt Dillon in the nose. Haven’t we all wanted to do that at one time or another?In that DC Cab movie, Adam Baldwin claimed to be from Locust Grove, GA. Unfortunately, I know right where that is.The DVD/Firefly conundrum comes down to this…Why buy a DVD of a show you have never seen. So for the buck an episode I get to see if I like it. If by the first three episodes it hits you the right way, either pay for the rest or cough up the dough for the rest of the series. If not, you’re out three bucks, big deal.

  5. Huck Says:

    So what’s the real deal on this Firefly show? Is it another space opera, or is there some actual Science Fiction in this thing?However… I will say that any show staring dude who made Matt Dillon bob for brown biscuits has already got a decent chance of impressing me.

Leave a Reply

