Look Homeward, Loudmouth Nitwit

by

Have you ever said something and immediately regretted it?  Here’s a couple of amusing anecdotes of foot-in-mouth disease.

Today at the jobsite, I was playfully bickering with the guy whose wife was just killed by their son, and said, "Who died and left you in charge?" As he walked out the door, the superintendent said, "His wife." 

Once, while at the sentencing hearing of an employee who had a drunk driving accident which  resulted in the death of his passenger, before I could stop myself, I asked him, "How you holdin’ up, killer?"  He gave me a look that can only be described as withering.

My girlfriend in college and I were visiting with her parents for the weekend.  She started  in about getting me to do something.  I don’t remember as I hardly ever listened to what she said.   Her father lowered his newspaper and said, "Son, I don’t know how you put up with all of that."  Trying to be witty, I said, "Well, she knows what turns Mr. Hand into Mr. Fist."  The look he gave me could, once again, only be described as withering.  He continued with that look for the rest of the weekend.

I just got off the phone with my mom.  I asked her, "Hey, did you read the Thanksgiving blog entry?"  After a moment of silence, she replied, "Yes", in a voice that could only be described as withering. 

One Response to “Look Homeward, Loudmouth Nitwit”

  1. smantix Says:

    Some people just have that talent of being able to turn that little interlocutor between their brain and their mouth on and off. "On" is the hard part.I remember the last time I said something that I thought was so completely witty and hateful only to understand how bad it was moments later. Sometimes our words escape like prisoners and our lips are sore to capture them.

Leave a Reply

