Late Veteran’s Day Post

by

I never get Veteran’s Day off.  One of my pals always takes the day off and goes down to Tootsie’s for a big drunken bash every year during the parade.  I was shocked to see him still coherent later in the afternoon.  If anything the military life teaches you it is discipline and stamina, both key ingriedients for pitching an all-day drunk.  Then there are the folks like me who have to stay on duty and work. 

So I have to imagine what the big drunk fest is like.  I think it probably looks like this:

Walter Sobchak-716393.jpg Walter Sobchak: Whereas what we have here? A bunch of fig-eaters wearing towels on their heads, trying to find reverse in a Soviet tank. This is not a worthy adversary.

and


Walter Sobchak: Those rich fucks! This whole fucking thing… I did not watch my buddies die face down in the muck so that this fucking strumpet…
The Dude: I don’t see any connection to Vietnam, Walter.
Walter Sobchak: Well, there isn’t a literal connection, Dude.
The Dude: Walter, face it, there isn’t any connection.

3 Responses to “Late Veteran’s Day Post”

  1. Amanda Hugginkyss Says:

    “…trying to find reverse in a Soviet tank…” [snorts]Veterans Day is one of those holidays that I have practically forgotten about over here. I mean, I work for the DoD. Or the Slovene MoD. Or NATO. Still not sure who I work for, but I should get the day off. Back when I worked at the boatyard I used to commiserate with the WWII greybeards in engineering about how we should get it off, but all it ever amounted to was clocking in but not actually working.

  2. Rex L. Camino Says:

    Saturday, Donny, is Shabbos, the Jewish day of rest. That means that I don’t work, I don’t get in a car, I don’t ride in a car, I don’t pick up the phone, I don’t turn on the oven, and I sure as shit don’t fucking roll! Shomer shabbos!

  3. Sarcastro Says:

    Ms. Hugginkyss,I’m flashing back to when we were teaching a bunch of fig eaters how to find reverse on a Yugoslav tank. I was miserable and couldn’t wait to get back to the relative comforts of Camp Doha. You on the other hand, looked like you didn’t want to leave the company of the Kuwaiti BMP enlistees and were slightly annoyed that we showed up to retrieve you. Then the BMP crews proceeded to chase Rajal-Sharq around like the only woman on a pirate ship. Ahhh, good times.

Leave a Reply

